Beachy Keen

Just a few more pics from Kite Beach.

I need a real camera, but these taken with my Samsung will have to suffice.

This is Aladdin right after he walked by to playfully swing his draping sleeves over my head:

Aladdin

Aladdin

I like taking pictures of the sun, because you can’t stare at it directly, it’s my substitution. It’s so bright it darkens the rest of the scene:

Sun

Sun

The water is so warm and salty. I’ve heard it’s so salty because water more rapidly evaporates in the incredible, searing heat. A view of the umbrellas, sunbathers, sand, and super salty gulf:

Beach Scene

Beach Scene

This is one of the many workers in bright orange suits, often with scarves for sun protection. He was sweeping and picking up litter too. It’s a tough, rather sad, and thankless job. While I wish people would pick up their own garbage, it’s nice that the beaches here are not littered with plastic. I asked if I could take his picture:

Sweeping

After I passed the worker, I walked down the new, green path towards the old wooden dhow ships. These are very close to the new stuff being built, but speak of an older time:

Dhows

Dhows

Near the ships are more fishermen tools:

fishing nets

fishing nets

Can’t wait to go back tomorrow morning! I will be reading “Some Girls: My Life in a Harem”. It’s a memoir of a wannabe star actress who takes a job in the Sultan of Brunei’s modern-day harem.

This will be me again:

From Biblioklept

From Biblioklept

Leave a Reply

